opinion-blackandwhite
Pontiac GTO Forum | GasTiresOil.com
More GTO info Billing Department News Department News Editor Obituaries Advertising Department Discussion Forum
Go Back   Pontiac GTO Forum | GasTiresOil.com > GTO Technical Forum > How-To's

Sponsors
Affiliate Sites


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2009, 09:32 PM   #1
helicopterpilotdoug
Senior Member
 
helicopterpilotdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 218
Banshee Gauge pod w/ Aeroforce Gauges Install

I installed the Gauge pod and gauges a couple of months ago. IMHO the gauges are great. They can read all kinds of information about your GTO, and what's going on.

Before installation go to http://www.aeroforcetech.com/manuals.html and choose your gauge. The one for the GTO with the latest gauges is 3.4.

Here are photos showing the install and what I did.




__________________
In the past 2006 TR A4

Last edited by helicopterpilotdoug; 09-23-2009 at 05:01 AM. Reason: link not working
helicopterpilotdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 09:39 PM   #2
helicopterpilotdoug
Senior Member
 
helicopterpilotdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 218
Banshee Gauge pod w/ Aeroforce Gauges Install Reply to Thread 2





__________________
In the past 2006 TR A4
helicopterpilotdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 09:45 PM   #3
helicopterpilotdoug
Senior Member
 
helicopterpilotdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 218
Banshee Gauge pod w/ Aeroforce Gauges Install 3





__________________
In the past 2006 TR A4
helicopterpilotdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 09:54 PM   #4
helicopterpilotdoug
Senior Member
 
helicopterpilotdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 218
Banshee Gauge pod w/ Aeroforce Gauges Install 4




I'm very pleased with the gauges. Both gauges will read 2 different items, and right now I have them reading Oil Pressure and Temp. on one, and Intake air temp, with ambient air temp on the other. Like I said before, you can read all kinds of things on these gauges.

Hope this helps someone with the installation of a gauge pod with gauges.
__________________
In the past 2006 TR A4
helicopterpilotdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 04:59 AM   #5
helicopterpilotdoug
Senior Member
 
helicopterpilotdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTOwhat View Post
Great write up. Plan on getting gauges soon. You just made this sound really really simple to do. I didnt know that the aero gauges just plugged right in. (well sort of) I was thinking of sccs gauges w/ gto, but do these have oil press?
I was intimidated by the whole idea of removing the top cover and fishing the wire through, but it was a easy install. Once started, it took about 2 hours, and that's with taking the pics along the way. The Aeroforce Interceptor gauges are great. They just plug and play. Yes, they have oil pressure. Here is a list of paramaters and features of the gauges, as well as more info.
http://www.aeroforcetech.com/products_interceptor.html
They also come in different colors
__________________
In the past 2006 TR A4
helicopterpilotdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 09:18 AM   #6
BAAD LS2
Cocksman
 
BAAD LS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: KC
Posts: 40
Awesome right up. I love my Aeroforce gauges. For anyone installing these with the SCSS pod, install is basically the same, only you have to trim the corners of the front tab on the dash. The instructions come w/ the pod. It takes a little longer but still fairly simple.
__________________

2005 MBM SAP M6
18x8 TSW Nogaros wrapped w/ Toyo Proxes - GForce Level 2 Half Shafts
Kooks 1 3/4" - Catless - SF H-Pipe - Vararam - Torquer V2 - Monster 3.5
LSS - '06 Tails - Shift Light - Kircher SAP Splitter - Poly Mounts
Aeroforce Dual Gauges in SCSS pod - 6k low/fog HID's
Ported Intake & TB, HPTuned by GeeTeeOh!... 433rwhp & 410tq Dynograph Link
PB 12.42 @ 114.28 w/ 1.9-60'
BAAD LS2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 10:52 AM   #7
Daniel Linnett
All in MODeration
 
Daniel Linnett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 660
I have the SCSS gator pod with the aeroforce gauges. I love em! Great thing is you can use the analog portion of the gauge for a wide band. Works great.


__________________


Daniel Linnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 04:55 AM   #8
helicopterpilotdoug
Senior Member
 
helicopterpilotdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekingntb View Post
Right now I'm trying to decided if I should do these because of all the different things it can tell you, or should I go with SCSS Gauage Pod. What do ya'll think?
The Aeroforce Interceptor gauges are great, mainly because of what you mentioned. One feature I really like about them is that they read 2 parameters on each gauge, so it's like having 4 gauges installed. Also if you want, you can scan up to 8 different parameters on each gauge. When you order the dual gauges setup it comes with the wires already spliced together, with the OBD2 connector ready to feed both gauges. I don't know anything about the scss gauges.
__________________
In the past 2006 TR A4
helicopterpilotdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 10:07 AM   #9
helicopterpilotdoug
Senior Member
 
helicopterpilotdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingsize View Post
Really nice write up! Those Aeroforce Gauges are making me think twice about the JHP set I have been thinking about picking up. I noticed someone mentioned being able to connect a wideband. How many analog inputs does it have?
They have 2 analog inputs on each gauge. Go to
http://www.aeroforcetech.com/products_interceptor.html
That will give you all the info, as well as links to the manuals, parameters and features. The gauges are kind of expensive, but well worth it IMHO.
__________________
In the past 2006 TR A4

Last edited by helicopterpilotdoug; 09-24-2009 at 10:18 AM.
helicopterpilotdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 07:07 PM   #10
ram09
The Anheuser-Busch Mod
 
ram09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Giddings
Posts: 1,677
Here is a link for discussion on this How To:

http://www.gastiresoil.com/showthread.php?t=929

Please discuss in that thread and not in this one.

Thanks,

Randie
__________________
"A fairy tale starts out once upon a time, a fishermen's tale starts out with: This is no bullsh*t." Capt Phil Harris

2004 Ghost White/Red M6
1 0F 1
Mods to date:
K&N CAI, SLP MAF Sensor, 3in SW Catback w/chambered muffs, BAER 13in brakes front & rear, TB Coolant Bypass, 160 degree thermostat, Royal Purple motor, trans, & rearend oil, black tails
ram09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 PM.

Billing Department News Department News Editor Obituaries Advertising Department Discussion Forum More GTO stuff

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Jett Fuel Productions, LLC - All Rights Reserved
GasTiresOil.com is not affiliated with General Motors Corp.